James Monroe High School Law & Government Magnet


Law and Government Seniors Awarded Scholarships

Laurence Kaldor and Mark Shipow of the Valley Community Legal Foundation of the San Fernando Valley Bar Association join Paul Graber the Law and Government Magnet Coordinator in presenting Law and Government students Andrea Solis, Angela Jimenez, and Jeniffer Ramos with $1,100 each at the James Monroe High School Senior Awards Banquet. Andrea will be attending Smith College, Angela, U.C. Berkeley, and Jeniffer will be attending U.C.L.A.
Read More »

Monroe Law and Government Freshman Wins Scholarship

Law and Government freshman Tina Ter-Akopyan won 1st place in an essay contest sponsored by the California Armenian Legislative Caucus in recognition of the Armenian Genocide. She won a $1,000 dollar scholarship and was flown to the State Capitol in Sacramento to receive her award.
Read More »

Law and Government/Police Academy Students Capture 10 Adademic Decathalon Medals

Law and Government and Police Academy students Kate Estrada, 2 gold medals, Juan Carlos Martinez, 1 gold and 1 silver medal, Jasmin Turcios, 1 silver and 1 bronze medal, Nicholas Quizon, 1 gold medal, Timothy Lim 1 gold medal, Christopher Guevara, 1 silver medal, and Louis Sanchez the HIPP medal, all collected honors at this year's LAUSD Academic Decathalon competition. Congratulations magnet students.
Read More »

Law and Government Student Receives Freedom Foundation Award

Law and Government and ROTC student Paul Michael Mendoza was the 2016 recipient of the Celebrate Freedom Foundation's Award in Excellence. Paul was not only the recipient of this prestigious award, but the essay he submitted to the local Blue Star Mothers was unanimously selected as one of the National Essay Champions. Congratulations Paul
Read More »

Law and Government Students Accepted to Top Colleges

Our magnet program is proud to congratulate the following students already admitted to top colleges through early decision: Dalia Dichter, Duke University; Kate Estrada, Wellesley College; and Andrea Solis, Smith College. Additionally, the following students received full tuition scholarships through the Posse Foundation: Diego Alonso and Jasmin Turcios, Dickinson College; and Mireille Becerra, Middlebury College. These scholarships are worth over $200,000 dollars.
Read More »

Law and Govenment Students Receive Youth Leadership Scholarships

Anne Bana and Eric Andrews both students in The Law and Government Magnet and the JROTC program at James Monroe High School were recipients of the 2017 Spirit of the American Youth Leadership Program Scholarship. The AYLPS is sponsored by the Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge. Anne and Eric will receive an all expense paid trip to Pennsylvania where they will participate in a four-day residential program designed to promote a better understanding of the rights and responsibilities of citizenship.
Read More »